Nutrition Exposures in the Treatment of Eating Disorders | Alsana®

Nutrition Exposures in the Treatment of Eating Disorders

Date

Oct 06 2020

Cost

This is a free event

Join Katherine Jordan, MS, RDN, LDN and Caroline Hughes, MS, RDN, LDN for a webinar on Nutrition Exposures in the Treatment of Eating Disorders on Tuesday, October 6th starting at 9:00 AM PT / 11:00 AM CT / 12:00 PM ET. We are offering 1 CE hour through APA, CDR, NASW, and NBCC for live attendance.

Exposure Response Prevention Therapy has deemed to be highly effective in the treatment of eating disorders. Whether clients are feeling stuck, have been in treatment for a while, or continue to have persistent anxiety with an inability to grow their window of tolerance, exposures can be a helpful tool for clinicians. When clinicians can get clients out of their offices engaging in various exposures alongside processing, the magic of brain rewiring can take place. In this presentation, we will take a deeper dive into nutrition-specific exposures including nutrition, body image, and movement. We will determine how to progress clients through various exposures and the ways to measure the “success” of the exposure. In conclusion, we will walk through a case study specifically discussing exposures done in hopes to give clinicians ideas and encouragement to take these exposures into their own practice.

Learning Objectives:

1. Define Exposure Response and Prevention Therapy (ERP), how it works, and why it is effective in the treatment of eating disorders (EDs).

2. Describe the progression of exposures within a client’s treatment.

3. Determine scales that are beneficial in measuring progress within exposures.

4. Describe various food, body image, and movement exposures that clinicians can apply for those struggling with eating disorders and disordered eating.

Leave a Comment

woman prepping produceJoyful movement, man walking his dog outside