The Brain & Shame: Clinician Tools to Rewire the Brain Trapped in a Binge Cycle | Alsana®

The Brain & Shame: Clinician Tools to Rewire the Brain Trapped in a Binge Cycle

Date

Aug 11 2020

Cost

This is a free event

The Brain & Shame: Clinician Tools to Rewire the Brain Trapped in a Binge Cycle

with Tammy Beasley, RDN, CEDRD-S, CSSD, LD

Join Tammy Beasley, RDN, CEDRD-s, CSSD, LD for a webinar on The Brain and Shame: Clinician Tools to Rewire the Brain Trapped in a Binge Cycle on Tuesday, August 11th starting at 9:00 AM PT / 11:00 AM CT / 12:00 PM ET. We are offering 1.5 CE hours through APA, CDR, NASW, and NBCC for live attendance.

Abstract: The cycle of binge-eating can feel like the brain is trapped in a loop of destructive and compulsive behaviors. It is not surprising these behaviors become deeply rooted in shame and loss of hope that things can or will change. In this presentation, Tammy will discuss what is happening in the brain to better understand “neuroplasticity” and how new brain pathways, both destructive and healing, are made. Using this understanding, key steps to reconnect the brain and body around hunger, fullness and the perceptions of both will be explored through the lens of the registered dietitian. Realistic tools and creative analogies to help clients “rewire” the brain will be demonstrated through a lens of self-compassion to restore hope in full recovery.

Learning Objectives:

1. Understand how new brain pathways are made and reframe the physiological changes created by the binge cycle

2. Discuss key points of reconnection to hunger and fullness that help disrupt the binge cycle and strengthen recovery

3. Learn practical methods of rehabilitating the brain using illustrative analogies that can be incorporated into daily practice.

Leave a Comment

young woman sitting on her bed using a laptop